RCC cleans up in the 2022 Qld. Grand Prix payouts! Yeehaa! Drinks for all my friends!

Prize winners in the 2022 CAQ Grand Prix
Tony Weller $500 for 1st place
Mark C Stokes U1600 prize of $300
Elizabeth Williams U1200 Prize of $300

The CAQ has a new CAQ President for 2023 in Worongary Old Boy, Shaun Curtis
– Doug Williams withdrew due to ill health.

The CAQ has a new CAQ Vice President for 2023 in Tony Powell
– Andrew FitzPatrick stood down for family reasons after 10 years of wonderful service to the CAQ and he will be sorely missed.

The CAQ has a new CAQ Regional Liaison Officer in Joseph Curtain – Martin Carter stood down as he will be overseas for part of next year.

The CAQ has a new Tournament Officer in Dusan Stojic.

The CAQ has a new Publicity Officer in Geoff Butler.

The CAQ has agreed to create a new Council Officer position for Women in 2023 too – Womens’ Officer.

The new CAQ Council will appoint the Inter-School Chess Co-Ordinator, the CAQ Grand Prix Coordinator, the CAQ Archivist, the CAQ Newsletter Editor, the CAQ Vega Advisor and the CAQ ACF Councillor at their first CAQ Council Meeting in February 2023.

Here is the full list of 2023 CAQ Council Members:
President Shaun Curtis,
Vice President Tony Powell,
Treasurer Bryan Moss,
Secretary Hughston Parle,
Membership Secretary Gail Young,
Ratings Officer Gail Young,
Tournament Officer Dusan Stojic,
Regional Liaison Officer Joseph Curtain,
Junior Chess Coordinator – Vacant,
Development Officer Eliot Soo-Burrowes,
Publicity Officer Geoff Butler.

Cheers Mark C Stokes 0431 419 136

Back to News