Chess next week at RCC – New tournament starting – Message from Club President, Mark C Stokes



Thanks to fantastic promotion from Kerry Corker, a great field of 33 players took part in the 2022 Redcliffe Chess Club’s Blitz Championship, with each player having 3 minutes plus 2 seconds a move for this 7 round Swiss Event. Max Kershaw was the Chief Arbiter and he did a marvellous job attending to any player queries and in collecting all the results. A big thank you to both Kerry and Max for ensuring such a successful event for one and all.


Congratulations to our outright winner, Aiden Brady, for scoring 6.5/7.

Jeeva Praveen also had a great night, scoring 6 out of 7 and only losing one game to the winner. No less than 4 players shared 3rd place win 5/7: Kiamehr Baneshi, Tyson Walker, Craig Stewart and Nikola Maljkovic. Well done to these 4 players too.


6.5:  Aiden Brady

6:    Jeeva Praveen

5:    Kiamehr Baneshi, Tyson Walker, Craig Stewart, Nikola Maljkovic

4.5: Simon Levy, Neil Barker, Allan Fossey

4:    Jai Turner, Tony Weller, Martin Post, Dengeeta Sonter, April Brittain-George and

Victor Davidovici

3.5: ChengYi Xia, Dylan Pu

3:    Chris Basiaco, Zhijie Zhang, Ryan, Nishad Dewan, Mark C Stokes,

Rishaan Koppolu, Hemish Patel, Dwiji Tripathy

2:    Nathan Hopkins, Trey, Braeden Levy, Joon Min, Krishna H Guntamukkala,Chloe

1:    Matilda

0:    David


See you all next Wednesday night September 7 for R1 of the Mike Dyer Memorial, a 6 round Swiss Tournament. If you need a bye for R1, text Mark by 7:15pm on Wednesday night.


Cheers  Mark C Stokes   0431 419 136

Back to News