ACF Medals – Reminder re Deadlines for Nominations

to ACF State Presidents, Secretaries and Councillors

from Australian Chess Federation Inc

per Gary Wastell – Medals & Awards Convenor

date 31 December 2021

re ACF Medals – Reminder re Deadlines for Nominations

Just a reminder about the closing date for nominations for the ACF’s annual Player-of-the-Year medals and awards – which is Monday, 3 January 2022.

Relevant information, as published in last month’s ACF Newsletter, is reproduced hereunder.

If you have not already done so, please ensure that the attention of your State Association is drawn to the opportunity to nominate people for these awards and please feel free to distribute details to anyone else who you think might be interested in submitting a nomination.

The intended date for the announcement of outcomes is Sunday 9 January 2022.

A prolonged ISP outage during the past week might have prevented delivery of nominations sent between December 25 and 28, so please check that any nominations you have already submitted have been acknowledged by return email. Acknowledgement is normally within 24 hours of submission.

Best regards,
Gary Wastell
Medals & Awards Convenor

phone (03) 9787 7974 or 0409 525 963


email cc
from ACF Newsletter #608


Nominations are invited for potential winners of the following medals and awards, to be presented in January 2021.

Player-of-the-Year medals are awarded in respect of players who are judged to have made the greatest impact during the calendar year of the award and can claim financial assistance from the ACF to participate in a significant national or international event during the 24 months following the presentation of the medal.

Steiner Medal and Award – Australian Player of the Year 2021

This medal is to be awarded to the Australian player who has made the greatest impact, not necessarily the highest-rated – it is for the most notable achievement during 2021 and may be awarded to the same person an unlimited number of times.

Arlauskas Medal & Award – Australian Under-16 Player of the Year 2021

The Arlauskas Medal is awarded on the same basis as the Steiner Medal but limited to nominees who met the ACF’s age-limit criteria for Australian Under-16 Championships in 2021, i.e. born in 2005 or later.

The Arlauskas Medal and Romanas Arlauskas Award may not be won by the same person more than twice.

Viner Medal & Award – Australian Senior Player of the Year 2021

The Viner Medal is awarded on the same basis as the Steiner Medal, but limited in this instance, to players born in or before 1971.

There is no limit to the number of times the Viner medal may be won by the same player.


Nominations need not be from among a State’s own members or residents.

A separate document or message containing the following should be provided in respect of each nominee:

name in full (correctly spelt);
contact details (phone, email, postal address);
a citation describing relevant achievements, suitable for reading when the medal is presented and/or publication thereafter;
anything else relevant to the nomination.
A person submitting a nomination must retain a complete copy of every document submitted as part of the nomination and must phone 0409 525 963 or (03) 9787 7974 to confirm that it has been received if delivery has not been acknowledged 24 hours after expected delivery time.

Deadline – 3 January 2022.

Address nominations comprising email messages and/or attachments to

Recipients of this notice are invited to distribute copies to affiliated clubs, members and others to maximise the possibility of nominations for the most suitable nominees.

Back to News