Message from outgoing CAQ Inc. President, Mark C Stokes

I wish the new 2022 CAQ Council all the very best. I congratulate Doug Williams on becoming the new CAQ President – the CAQ will be in great hands with Doug. I also congratulate new CAQ Secretary Yi Liu. I think it is great that the current Queensland Chess Champion is now on the CAQ Council! I wish to acknowledge all the wonderful help and fantastic advice outgoing CAQ Secretary Michael D’Arcy gave to me over the last ten years. Thanks a million Michael! I also wish all the returning CAQ Council Members – Vice President and Tournament Officer Andrew FitzPatrick, Treasurer Bryan Moss, New Membership Secretary David Esmonde, Ratings Officer Gail Young, Regional Liaison Officer Martin Carter, Junior Chess Co-Ordinator Shaun Curtis, Development Officer Eliot Soo-Burrowes and Publicity Officer Hughston Parle- the very best of luck in 2022. And a big thank you to the many CAQ Clubs who sent delegates or proxies to the 2021 AGM – Brisbane Chess Club, Bundaberg Chess Club, Redcliffe Chess Club, Gold Coast Chess Club, Mackay Chess Club, Queensland Womens Chess League, Suncoast Chess Club, Toowoomba Chess Club and Townsville Chess Club! The Associate Members were also represented by David Esmonde. It was a very well attended AGM indeed! Thanks to all for the kind words to me above and at the meeting. I will have fond memories for the rest of my life of my time as CAQ President – what great hard working volunteers we have in Queensland taking Chess forward!

Back to News